Item Crafting - Spell in Repertoire, or Spell in Book?

So, re-reading the Magic Item Creation rules, it says that the caster must “know the spell(s) that replicate the magic item’s effect, or must find a sample or formula of the item.” My question, then, is what is meant by ‘know’ - having in repertoire, or having in spellbook?

Everywhere I’ve noticed the word “know” in relation to spells known, it has referred to the repertoire. Page 67 has most of those instances.

Based on how thoroughly the term is avoided through most of the text, however, I suspect that any use of the word “know” in relation to spells known was an editorial accident ;-).