I really like how this book is turning out! Here are some things I noticed while looking at it (hoping this kind of feedback is useful?) Chapter 2, New Character Classes "The new classes in this book include the berserker, beastmaster," should be "beastmaster, berserker"
> Not a typo, but something I find strange: warmistress has armor training among their class proficiencies, but "never wear armor heavier than leather" and have "graceful fighting" style, which doesn't work with heavier armor I think?
She can take Armor Training to gain access to chain mail if, e.g. she finds a set of magical chainmail and it's worth the loss of graceful fighting.
> Is there a limit to how much "provoke the passions" can be used, other than the Judge changing saving throw modifiers?
There is not, no.
> Proficiencies, Combat trickery: There are some new special maneuvers in this book. Should Combat trickery be possible for them too? Combat trickery (clamber), Combat trickery (sweeping attack)?
Adding new combat trickery proficiencies is somewhat problematic and I decided not to do so.
> Proficiencies, Combat trickery: "In addition, anytime the character lands a critical hit (see p. XX), he may apply his special maneuver as an effect in addition to the outcome he rolled if desired" So on a critical hit, the character gets: Double damage + rolled effect + effect from Combat trickery? Can this not create some confusing effects? Is it a separate save, or part of the "save vs critical effect" How does it work with the critical "Shields May Be Splintered" reaction?
Chapter 4, Critical hits: Brawling: "For instance, an attacker with a nonmagical sword who rolls a Damage Shield result against a target with a magical shield could substitute a Brawling result instead". Shields May Be Splintered: "If the target of a critical effect is equipped with a shield, he may choose to substitute a Damage Shield result" This makes the first example pointless. Since the target can always chose Damage Shield, the attacker has no meaningful choice. In practice, characters with magic shields are immune to critical effects from creatures with nonmagical weapons or less than 5 HD.
Thanks for catching these inconsistencies. Revised text is below.
Combat Trickery: ...In addition, anytime the character lands a critical hit (see p. XX), he may apply his special maneuver as an effect in lieu of the outcome he rolled if desired.
Brawling: After seeing the result rolled on the Critical Effects table, the attacker may opt to inflict a Brawling critical effect in lieu of the effect rolled. For instance, an attacker who fears being carried off by a flying creature could substitute a Brawling result for a Clamber result.
Combat Trickery: After seeing the result rolled on the Critical Effects table, an attacker with Combat Trickery proficiency may substitute the special maneuver with which he has proficiency in lieu of the effect rolled. For instance, an attacker with Combat Trickery (Disarm) who deals a Force Back critical hit can inflict a Disarm instead.
Shields May Be Splintered: If the target of a critical effect is equipped with a shield, he may choose to substitute a Damage Shield result in lieu of a Brawling, Damage Armor, Force Back, Injure Hide, Impair Attack, Impair Move, Knockdown, or Stun effect dealt to him. This represents the character desperately absorbing the blow on his shield.
> Sweeping attack I think creatures with attack range more than 5' should make targets go prone rather than withdrawing. I can't think of a clean way to write this though :) Sweeping attack "(e.g. his attack routine plus his level in cleaves)" only fighter progression have "level in cleaves". Better text would be "number of cleave attacks per round"?
I'm not sure why? Anecdotally when I've fought opponents with reach weapons I fall back, I don't fall down, to evade their reach.
Good fix on text. "e.g. his attack routine plus his number of cleave attacks by level"
> Chapter 5, Heroic magic Ceremonial magic, performing ceremonies. The text says "The base target value for a ceremony throw is 10+, decreased by 1 point per caster level after 1st. The target value of the ceremony throw is increased by 2 points per level of the ceremony." This does not match the table, where the target value is increased by 2 per ceremony level after 1st level. Mathematically, it looks like the target values is 10+ -(caster level -1) + 2*(spell level -1). This simplifies to 9 + ceremony level*2 - caster level.
Thanks. I just needed to add "above 1st" to the end of the sentence. "The base target value for a ceremony throw is 10+, decreased by 1 point per caster level after 1st. The target value of the ceremony throw is increased by 2 points per level of the ceremony above 1st"
> Spells: Delay Death "A critically wounded character normally will normally die unless" Delete one "normally". I also don't see the scenario in which this spell is useful. At 5th level, a cure critical wounds is quite likely to heal to 1 hp.
Thanks for the catch.
Not sure I agree with your critique of the spell. It really depends what degree of negative hit points the victim has been reduced to. In one of my last games of ACKS, a character that was already at low hp due to wounds (5hp out of 25hp) got dropped 120' and suffered 12d6 damage, reducing him to -25hp and mortally wounded. His base healing rate was 1d8, so Cure Critical Wounds would heal 5d8 - 5*4.5=22.5 - less than a 50% chance of keeping him alive. Mathematically, the spell is most valuable when cast on badly-wounded low-level characters.
Note also that Healers can emulate this spell non-magically, and cannot emulate Cure Critical Wounds.
> Drain Life II and III should have some more interesting name than II and III :)
Not every spell is as well-named as Fillet and Serve.
> Ensorcellement "By means of this spell, the caster can mesmerizes a" Either "can mesmerize" or "caster mesmerizes" I think.
Illusory Interior "Ab illusory interior lasts until" Ab -> An
Strengthen the Unliving "Eldritch 3" Missing designation (Black).
Thanks for all these catches!
> Inflict Lycanthropy "Duration: 1 turn per level" Text says it's permanent
Spells duration is permanent. Thanks!
> Ring of Fire "within 5’ of the outer edge of the ring of fire" I'm confused if this spell damages creatures inside the ring or not. If a creature is right inside the edge, it's still within 5' of the outer edge, is it not? But then why does it say "outer" edge. How does the ring interact with solid walls etc? Can it be created if there is not enough room for a the full ring, like a 20' ring in a 10' wide corridor?
Great questions. I've re-written the spell below to answer that.
This spell surrounds the caster with a protective circle of immobile, opaque, flame. The ring of fire is 4’ high and 1” thick, and encircles the caster at a radius of 5’ to 20’ (selected when the spell is cast). Because of its low height, the ring of fire does not block line of sight, and creatures capable of flight or high jumping can easily clear it. Creatures outside the ring that begin their initiative within 5’ of its outer edge or who move within 5’ of its outer edge on their initiative, suffer 1d6 points of fire damage. Creatures that pass through the ring of fire suffer an additional 2d6 points of fire damage. The ring deals double damage to undead creatures or creatures who use cold or are accustomed to cold. The ring may be evoked so that it appears where objects or creatures already are. Creatures who make a successful saving throw versus Blast are able to dive into or out of the ring (their choice) without being harmed; objects such as furniture in the circumference of the ring will be ignited. However, if the ring is evoked so that parts of its circumference overlaps with a noncombustible barrier (such as a stone wall), that part of the ring will simply not manifest, resulting in an incomplete circle.
[quote[ Chapter 8 I love the details we get to see in this chapter. [/quote]
Glad all the hard work was appreciated!
> Enchantment spells: "Effect: Target forgets one minute before and one turn after spell for duration" is missing it's cost (of 40?)
Yes. Thank you!
> Frightened: "If a frightened creature cannot flee, its cower in terror" should be "it cowers" Infuriated: "If the animal has " should be "the creature"