Hey all, just asking a few clarifications with regards to polymorph type spells.
Firstly, when it says that you gain a creatures physical attacks, does that mean you attack *as* said creature? So if you were a mage that polymorphed into a giant or the like, do you use the Monster Attack throw table or do you still use your own?
Do you gain the cleaves that a monster would gain (HD = total max cleaves) or do you gain your basic class cleaves (non-fighters cleaves=1/2 HD or none)?
Finally, how much of your class abilities do you retain during the polymorph? Can you cast spells if you can speak in your new form? Do rogues still have the ability to sneak attack regardless of what they become (or do they need humanoid type bodies to do it)? Do fighters still gain their +x damage from levels?
1. It means you gain the new form's attack sequence and damage. For Polymorph Self, you retain your own HD and hence your own attack throws. For Polymorph Other, you use the new form's attack throws.
2. For Polymorph Self, you retain your own HD and hence your own cleaves. For Polymorph Other, you use the new form's cleaves.
3a. For Polymorph Self, you may retain the abillity to cast spells if you have polymorphed into a creature of which some members of the creature's species or sub-species can cast spells.
3b. For Polymorph Self, you may retain the ability to sneak attack if you have have polymorphed into a humanoid form and are using a weapon you are are proficient in. Optionally, at the Judge's discretion, you may retain the ability to sneak attack as well if you hav polymorphed into a form that is capable of stealth and has a type of attack precise enough to benefit from striking a vital area (e.g. a panther).
3c. For Polymorph Self, you may apply your fighter damage bonus if you have have polymorphed into a humanoid form and are using a weapon you are are proficient in.
Hmm, what if your HD isn't the same as your base form? Either you've got the Transmorgrifcation proficiency which means you can have up to 2 HD higher then base, or skinchange, where you can change into animals with much higher HD then you have?
So changing into a Sperm Whale gives you a creature with 36 HD (even though your actual HP doesn't change) do you attack as that creature or do you still have your base attack?
Sad to hear about backstab, there goes the plan of getting the thief to be an invisible t-rex to 'backstab' people. Would have been fun too.... :D
Well, you could crossbreed a T-Rex and a Panther first and then polymorph into one...
Hmm, I'll put that down as another project.
Add that in along with my plan to breed a Hydra and an Ogre together to greatly increase the amount of skulls available for crafting!