high level play for mages

…tell me about it. Because it occurs to me I’m in a weird place in my experience with D&D. I’ve been playing (off and on, but mostly on) for 20 years. I’ve done a number of editions and different games, and a few long running campaigns. And I’ve never actually taken, or even seen, a magic user go from low to high levels, organically in play, and I lack much experience with domain level play at all. (3.0 was a partial exception, but without any domain game, and with deliberately accelerated advancement.)

Specifically, I’m wondering about expenses versus income for mages. On paper it looks like they have greater expenses and greater down time requirements than other classes (spell research, formulas for magic items, crossbreeding), with no greater income. But I don’t know if that’s correct or not, or if it matters if it is.

So how’s that go? Does the mage make it up on income from spellcasting and magic item sales to npcs? Does the party subsidize the mage voluntarily? Does the mage charge the party for services? Or, does the mage just drop out and fall behind when he researches a spell or formula?

I know the Grim Fist mage was getting into spell research, and I know she had a domain, but I don’t recall if she was subsidized by party funds. And I think the Wandering Gamist’s mage was playing the domain game out-of-class so to speak. But how have yours gone?

My understanding of the dynamic for domain mages (drawn from reading Grim Fist and thinking about the domain ecology http://wanderinggamist.blogspot.com/2013/02/venturer-domains-and-domain-ecology.html ) is that they’re probably party-subsidized money-to-magic convertors most of the time. I do not recommend letting your mages run guilds :P. I also recommend the patch Alex suggested for all-spy guilds, which is to have the guild membership numbers be max total member levels rather than max number of guild members.