0-Level Normal Men & Implicit Proficiencies

I'm not looking for a btb ruling, necessarily, rather, just guidance. It's also possibly a dumb question (or explaining it poorly).

From the time of 0-level henchmen (normal men) creation, to when they gain their first level, does that time count as "working," for the purposes of gaining Implicit Proficiencies? 

Yes, it does

Thanks. But, all else being equal, might that mean a 0-level henchman will end up with more proficiencies than a 1st-level character at character creation, once the henchman reaches 1st level? If so, I take it that is o.k?