Cleave and Monsters

So, how does this work exactly with a monster with multiple attacks?
Say a 4hd creature with claw/claw/bite attacks a group.
Claw one kills something
+Cleave (can this be any of it’s attacks, say the more damaging bite, or does it have to use it’s claw?)-Cleave kills something
+Cleave again (doesn’t kill)
Claw (2)-drops the target
+…? Can it start the Cleave routine since it technically has 2 cleaves left, or because the routine stopped above, is it over and forced to use it’s bite?

Lookylooky: see alex’s example in this thread. hope that help: