What's best practices for controlled units?
Bob, a 7th level chaotic cleric, can control a company sized unit of zombies, by virtue of the "D" result for him turning zombies. That mechanic essentially leaves them charmed, under his control.
-- He's also capable of acting as a hero - can he? Or is controlling the zombies his only option? If he's eligible by level to detach and act independently, may he, still controlling the zombies if they are in his ZOC? ... I guess this boils down to if controlling charmed creatures is the same action as controlling/ordering regular creatures.
He may also, if I'm interpreting the scaling rules right, control a battalion of zombies because of being 7th level - he can act as a lieutenant at that scale.
-- That relationship doesn't invert - he cannot control 4 companies of zombies at company scale? - i.e. act as a "division commander" with those zombies in his ZOC, more or less - as he's eligible to be a commander at the company scale. (if he was 9th level, he could be a lieutenant for a brigade of 1,920 zombies...)
-- There doesn't seem to be any indication against heros detaching from one unit and attaching to another (one of the D@W:B examples shows two heroes in one unit, though obvs. only one will act as a commander at any given round). If Bob cannot control multiple units by virtue of higher level, can Bob detach/attach to different units controllable by him, leaving the units he's not attached to dormant and unreactive?