Horse, Charging, and Shamen

Do horses do double damage when they charge? I know their riders do when wielding a spear or lance, but do they? My understanding was no, they don’t. Only horned creatures seem to.
But in the Shaman Horse spirit animal entry, they have charge listed as a special ability. Looking that up in the monster section, it specifically references the double damage ability of charging. Leading me to understand that they do do double damage when they charge (2d4/2d4).

No, horses do not do double damage if they charge.
When a horse with mounted warrior charges, both rider and horse can attack, and the rider will deal double damage if armed with spear or lance.

Ok, that’s what I thought. But one of my players wanted a horse totem for exactly that reason. So should the charge special quality come out of the stats for the shaman’s horse? Regular horses don’t have that quality which according to monster special abilities means IT does double damage. At least as far as I can tell.

I’ll have to figure out a better way to express it! But your player is definitely wrong on this. :smiley: