Question about the Tampering With Mortality table

I’m tampering with the Tampering table and I have a question about a class of results. Specifically, the results near the top of the table, which read like, “Any additional attempts are permitted at -1”.

The various entries range from -1 to -5 and my question is, which roll do these penalties pertain to: the d20 or the d6? I could assume that it’s the d20 roll given that all of the modifiers at the bottom of the table are for the d20, but what’s the fun in that?

You are a cruel, cruel person.

It is intended to be the 1d20 roll, but certainly it is susceptible to other interpretation by a cruel and remorseless Judge.