Very dark. I like it.
- The text says, “Outside of the Auran Empire campaign setting, Nobirus could be used to model any dark, eldritch race, such as the Melnibonéans of Moorcock’s Multiverse or the Drow of Gygax’s Greyhawk.” I presume that “Nobirus” should be “Zaharans”.
- In the example of the After the Flesh racial power, you suppose a class with Divine 2, Zaharan 4, for a total of 6. Correct me if I’m wrong here, but I think that should be Divine 2, Arcane 2, Zaharan 2. As written, there isn’t a total of 4 build points in the base class categories. The result will still be a creature with the full powers of a cleric and a mage, so the rest of the example works out correctly (assuming “Arcane 4” a couple of lines later refers to the net functional Arcane when you stack Zaharan on top).
The following are questions about After the Flesh.
- How does After the Flesh interact with the rules for strongholds and followers? If I’m a Zaharan and I’m turned into a vampire when I’m 7th level, does that mean I don’t get a stronghold as a class feature when I attain 9HD as a vampire? Or would my undead HD count as levels for attaining a stronghold just like they count for spellcasting advancement?
- Monster Hit Dice are d8’s. So when I become an undead, does that mean all of my HD are d8’s? I assume I don’t reroll all of my hit points. Let’s say I advance to level 11 in a Zaharan character class, then transform myself into an 11HD mummy. Later, I am energy drained down to 8HD. Now, I’m advancing as a mummy rather than as my former class — does that mean, when I regain levels, I roll d8’s instead of whatever my class Hit Dice were?
- Come to think of it, in the above scenario, when I regain levels as a mummy rather than as my former class, would that mean I was shut out of the class powers I gained at levels 10 and 11 in my former class? I guess I would be able to regain spellcasting abilities (does this include necromatic rites, magical research, etc.?), but if I lost, say, thief skills in the energy drain, I would not get them back by advancing as a mummy, is that right?